OFAC Sanctioned Countries

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) is part of the United States Treasury Department. OFAC manages the United States government's sanctions and embargo programs, as well as the Specially Designated Nationals (SDNs) and Blocked Persons lists. SDNs are entities or individuals owned or controlled by, or acting for or on behalf of, the governments of target countries. SDNs may also be associated with international narcotics trafficking or terrorism. United States persons may be prohibited from conducting certain activities with the listed individuals and entities without prior OFAC authorization.

Seek Guidance

  • Restricted Party Screenings: If you are dealing with a country subject to restrictions with specific parties, you are encouraged to share with ORPA the names of all individuals and entities involved. ORPA can screen against lists of restricted parties to ensure compliance with sanctions regulations.
  • Export Licenses: If you are contemplating activities in countries subject to import, export, or travel restrictions, contact Export Controls at [email protected] so that a license determination may be made.

OFAC Sanctioned Countries

Sanctions regulations vary significantly by country. The following countries are subject to restrictions on certain types of activities, as indicated below.  This list is current as of March 10, 2022.

List of Comprehensively Sanctioned Countries


Cuba Iran
North Korea Russia

The following regions of Ukraine:   Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk

Most transactions, including those involving persons or entities "ordinarily resident" in these countries, require an Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) License.

Other Countries Subject to OFAC Sanctions

Balkans Belarus Burma (Myanmar) Central African Republic
Congo, Dem. Rep. of Ethiopia Hong Kong Iraq
Lebanon Libya Nicaragua Sudan
Venezuela Yemen    

Transactions related to activities with specific parties in these countries are prohibited.

Countries Subject to Prohibition on Military Exports

Afghanistan Belarus Burma Central African Republic
China Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Cuba Congo, Dem. Rep. of
Cyprus Eritrea Haiti Iran
Iraq Lebanon Liberia Libya
Nicaragua North Korea Somalia South Sudan
Sri Lanka Sudan Syria Venezuela
Vietnam Zimbabwe    

The U.S. Department of State prohibits the export of military/space equipment or technical data to these countries and to foreign nationals of these countries.

A printable version of the information above may be accessed through the link under GUIDANCE on this webpage.

ITAR Restrictions

Be aware that the Department of State maintains a separate list of countries subject to regulations related to the International Traffic in Arms (ITAR). See the Federal Regulations page to learn more.