Research Administration Training Program

The Office of Research and Project Administration is excited to share that development of Princeton University’s Research Administration Training Program is well underway.  Questions regarding the program can be sent to Eszter Rudy, Training Manager, at

Program Purpose

The Research Administration Training Program is being developed with the following goals in mind:

  • Build a program in-house so it is tailored specifically to the Princeton University audience
  • Offer a rigorous professional development program for Princeton University staff interested in sponsored research
  • Develop an extensive, in-depth training opportunity covering the cradle-to-grave sponsored research life cycle at a basic level and in a way that is accessible to all
  • Create new networking opportunities and build a supportive community of knowledgeable research administrators
  • Provide an opportunity for Princeton’s research administrators to receive an internal certification and show off their hard work!

Intended Audience

The Research Administration Training Program is primarily meant to offer professional development to those who are new or interested in a career in sponsored research (less than 2-3 years of experience), or for those who are new to Princeton. The depth and breadth of this program ensure that even seasoned research administrators will find the investment of their time worthwhile. The program will be prioritized for those who are new to Research Administration or new to Princeton but will also be open to all who are interested.

Program Curriculum

The program will be made up of a set of core classes and a set of electives:

chart of proposed classes

All enrollees will be asked to begin the program by taking Introduction to Research Administration at Princeton University, followed by the Pre-Award Administration module classes in the order laid out above. These classes teach the fundamentals of research administration which are built upon later in the curriculum. The remainder of the program may be completed in any preferred order, but note that Introduction to Award Management should be taken prior to Post-Award Financial Compliance.

Program Hours to Certification and Time to Completion

Each class will be broken up into 90-minute segments of instruction. The required training hours to complete the program is estimated at approximately 25 hours of core classes and 9 hours of electives. In addition, in order to receive certification, assessments in the form of “homework” will be required to be completed.

It is expected that the program should be completed within 24 months of enrollment.

Program Launch

A pilot cohort is planned to be launched beginning in February 2022.  Participation in the pilot group will be limited to those who are able to make a time commitment to attend a condensed program, with two 90-minute sessions held during the second week of each month for approximately one year. Information regarding applications to participate in the pilot group will be forthcoming in the fall of 2021.

The program will open up to the entire Princeton University community in late 2022.

Collaborating Offices and Groups

The Research Administrator Training Program is a collaborative effort across a variety of offices and groups at Princeton. The following offices and groups will teach segments of the program:

  • Dean of the Faculty (DOF)
  • Graduate School (DGS)
  • Human Resources (HR)
  • Office of Audit and Compliance (OAC)
  • Office of Research and Project Administration (ORPA)
  • Research Integrity and Assurance (RIA)
  • Selected grants managers
  • Sponsored Research Accounting (SRA)
  • ….and more!

Program Development Support

The Research Administration Training Program is being developed with the indispensable help of:

  1. Grants Manager Focus Group: Alison Coakley, Sara Guerin, Jessica Johnson, Zack Kaado, Yvette Kupersmit, Sarah McGovern, Ashlee Prewitt-Crosby, Kristen Seith, Kathe Slatas, Bob Sullivan, and Patti West.
  2. Steering Committee: Elizabeth Adams, Hope Caldwell, Maureen Connolly, Karen Haskin, Floe Fusin-Wischusen, Matt Kotsovolos, Stuart Leland, Paula Looney, Sarah McGovern, Glynis Sherard, and Martin Smith.